Churchill village has a post office, take away, hairdressers (1km from cottage) and 3 Bar ⁄ Lounge(music at weekends). There is a Church of Ireland in the village and the local Catholic church is 1 mile away. The closest beaches are Marblehill/Downings/Portsalon - 30 min. drive.
As Mountain lodge cottage is centrally located within Donegal, you're within easy travelling distance of the major tourist attractions and hill walking trails.
Colmcille Heritage Centre
Colmcille Heritage Centre - approx 0.5 miles
Saint Colmcille or Columba born in Gartan, Churchill, close to Lough Gartan in County Donegal in approximately 521AD. St Colmcille founded the Irish monasterys at Glencolmcille and Kells and before founding his monastery on Iona in 563AD. It was from there that he brought Christianity to the North of England. The Book of Kells was produced from the monastery at Iona. Colmcille died in 597AD.
Interesting monuments surrounding the heritage centre include the cross that marks the saint’s birthplace and the Flagstone of Loneliness where the saint is said to have slept. The centre also houses an exhibition of the saint's life and information on how early Christian manuscripts were made.
The Colmcille Heritage Centre in Gartan, Churchill is open from Easter until September.
Glebe House and Gallery - approx
Located at Churchill, Letterkenny, Regency House, 1828, set in woodland gardens, decorated with William Morris textiles, Islamic and Japanese art etc. The collection includes 300 works by leading 20th century artists Picasso, Kokoshka as well as Irish and Italian artists. Exhibitions are shown in the adjoining gallery. Access to ground floor of the Gallery for people with disabilities.
National Park - approx 4 miles
Here within a late 19th century setting in a rugged and remote mountain valley, Henry McIlhenny from Philadelphia created one of the most celebrated gardens in Ireland. Woodland gardens and pleasure grounds, an Italian terrace with antique sculpture and terracotta pots, are all skilfully interwoven against the wild and beautiful Donegal landscape.
Gartan - approx 1 mile
Located just 5mins from the Mountain Lodge Cottage Lough Gartan is stocked with Salmon, Sea Trout and Brown Trout. With the season running from March 1st - September 30th for salmon and March 1st - October 9th for Trout, Gartan Lough has everything the novice to professional fisherman alike. Enquiries on the fishing should be made to Mr Gerard Mc Nulty, Hon. Sec., Letterkenny and District Anglers Association, Hawthorn Heights, Letterkenny.
Forest Park - approx 10 miles
As well as being one of the most beautiful, Ards is certainly the most varied of Ireland's forest parks. Bays, rivers, loughs, beaches, salt marshes, valleys, viewing points, deer enclosures and historic monuments are woven together by a series of fascinating nature trails.
Largely canopied by splendid deciduous and coniferous trees which clothe the 481 ha former estate of the Stewart family, the park is capable of providing days, rather than hours, of enjoyment . Its appeal embraces the stroller, ornithologist, geologist, botanist, historian, children, and lovers of beauty in all its forms. There is a good map at the car park which indicates the various trails and major attractions.
Newmills Corn and Flax Mills - approx 1 mile
One of the few monuments of industrial archaeology in state care in the Republic is the complex of mills at Newmills, three miles west of Letterkenny.
The oldest surviving building here is said to be 400 years old. Indeed, the whole complex is an interesting reminder of a stage in the industrial development of this country, which has now given way to a more sophisticated, but usually far less fascinating technology.
A complex of industrial buildings, which included both corn and flax mills powered by the river swilly. The visitor to Newmills can experience the pleasure of seeing one of the largest waterwheels in Ireland in action as it drives the machinery of the cornmill.
Mc Claffertys Bar/Lounge, Churchill
Outdoor Education Centre - approx 1 mile
Gartan Outdoor Education Centre is a restored stone building set on the shore of beautiful Lough Gartan, Churchill, Co.Donegal, Ireland. It originally housed the stables and farm buildings of the old Lough Veagh House. The centre is set on its own 87 acre estate, and several activities take place on the lake and in the grounds.
|Only very short distances have to be travelled to take advantage of our beautiful coastline and rugged hills. Our courses take place throughout Donegal and the rest of Ireland, and sometimes further afield.|
|Doe Castle - approx 1 mile off the Carrigart-Creeslough road. This MacSuibhne castle is protected on three sides by the sea, while on the landward side a moat has been hewn from the rock. The castle changed ownership many times in the 17th century before settling into English hands. General George Vaughan Harte carried out extensive repairs at the end of the 18th century and his family lived here until 1864. The general's initials are over the door.|
|A Church of Ireland minister was the last occupant. When he left, the castle fell into disrepair and eventually fell into ruin. The Landlord, Stewart-bam of Ards, sold the property to the Irish Land Commission in 1922. It is now a National Monument.|
Giants Causeway - approx 40
The Causeway become widely known from the 1700's as the 'Eighth Wonder of the World', large numbers of visitor's came to view this amazing array of basalt columns - it is estimated that there are around 40,000 in total. Today's visitor is free to wander over the stones but it was not always the case. Growing worldwide fame brought increasing numbers of visitors which inspired a syndicate to engage in a profitable 'charge' scheme to view the stones at close hand.
|For over a century prior to this scheme, There had been disputes of access and ownership - the stones have been fenced off, access denied and several legal challenges made.|